Advanced Rider Training in San Diego, CA

This past weekend I and 6 other guys had the wonderful opportunity to get some advanced training from a Royal Canadian Police Sergeant Ryan Austin and his civilian partner Gus El-Moussa. Both of them came in from Canada to host this weekend course.

It was a great learning opportunity for me on controlling the big beast that I am riding. Ryan was able to adeptly handle the beast even at an extremely low speed, which is a very hard thing to do. Any fool can go fast on a motorcycle but it takes a skilled rider to handle the beast at a low speed.

We went over many different actual police training patterns. We learned “figure 8”, “circular cone”, “gate key”, “criss cross intersections”, and “high speed emergency braking” to name a few. The course was filled with fun motorcycle enthusiasts from various backgrounds. We have various type of brands represented as well : BMW, Harley, Honda, and Kawasaki. I even got a chance to ride Gus’ new BMW GS1200 Adventure, which I thought was quite nice.

All in all, I came out to be a much more confident rider and hopefully a safer rider on the street.

I encourage any of you reading this blog to check these guys out.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑